I Stand In Silence

This is my Remembrance Poem in memory of the fallen. For those of you who don’t know I’m both a Celtic supporter and long time advocat of Scotland’s Independence and I’m really fed up with the demonisation of my communities at this time of year. To counter this prejudice I have made passing references to both groups within the text of the poem and make no mistake this was deliberate. You see if there is one thing I loathe about the run up to this event it’s the constant hijacking of both the act of remembrance and the poppy by a small but vocal group of unionists many of whom support what they laughably call the loyal orders and other right wing political groups and whose footballing loyalties reflect this deep seated if irrational prejudice. If you were to listen to those people you would think that no Celtic Supporter or member of the independence movement had ever fought in any wars and conflicts to defend these islands. This disgusting attitude is an insult to my dad and his two older brothers who all did what they had to do not for any UK union but for democracy and the families they loved. At the suggestion of my friend Paddy Callaghan I have given it the title I Stand In Silence because that’s what we do on Remembrance Day and we do it to honour the memory of the fallen who gave their lives for our freedom and defeated the tyranny of fascism. But, and be under no illusions about it, as well as honouring the dead of two world wars this title also sends a message to leaders far closer to home and that message is that I won’t stand in silence when it comes to fighting the fascists in our country today and I won’t let them claim either remembrance day nor the poppy for their twisted unionist political ends. I hope you enjoy what I think will be a thought provoking read.

I Stand In Silence

Remembrance Sunday
I stand in silence
to remember the fallen
Poppy worn on the lapel of my jacket
I wear it for James Stokes and Willie Angus
a fan and a player from my team
who wore my colours
and won the highest award
this country can bestow upon civilians
for missions of bravery in action
I wear it for them and for family who served in campaigns in Italy and North Africa
every year my uncle
attended the cenotaph
now I attend the service of Remembrance
in his memory and my dad’s
I am glad to be able to do it
but refuse to sing a hymn of hate against my people
in 45 we defeated the evils of fascism
yet this creeping beast though beaten was not completely destroyed
as it should have been
instead it slept quietly
in pastures green
now we must fight it in the country we said it would never reach
this we claimed was a European plague
we defeated on the beaches of Normandy
gloating in victory we lacked the dignity
to learn from history’s mistakes
so now we must fight it again
this time not on foreign shores
but our on our own
drawing battle lines to stand against
those who claim that the blood shed on Flanders fields
belongs only to them
boasting of empire, crown, and glory
and of wars fought before they born
I treat such claims with the scorn they deserve
yes there were Celtic fans who never came back
they didn’t all fight for the union flag
this lie cannot be allowed to stand
and like autumn leaves needs swept away
on the day we pray for the fallen
who died not for the UK union
but democracy
to say otherwise is to make a mockery
of those who made greatest sacrifice
and gave their lives for freedom

© Gayle Smith 2019

Leave a comment