By Any Other Name

This poem is my latest on the ongoing madness that is Brexit loving right wing populism so loved by Boris Johnson and the xenophobes who never wanted Scotland or the UK to be in Europe let alone at the heart of it. Not only did not want to have a European future they made promises they knew they would be able to keep in order to get the result they needed to win the European Union Referendum. Before I go any further I would like to thank my Words And Music co-host Jen Hughes for looking over this poem for me and whether she knows it or not helping me with the editing process which has improved the quality of it till it is now at a place where I am happy to share it. I’ve given it the title By Any Other Name, I hope you enjoy the read

By Any Other Name

Promises from the lips of liars,
tempted you to kiss them at the station.
honeyed words were sweeteners for the soul.
when they talked of taking back control,
you jumped at the chance for a dance
ignoring the risks, you kissed again
till they left you, holding you holding the baby
and their unpaid bills .
the promised land they offered
is not where we are at this time
the dream they sold you ,
when the sun set, on that summer evening
was a promise that was never going to be kept
they respected you, only till the morning after
their laughter could be heard
by all who were willing to listen .
they never saved a prayer for you
or anyone else.
on the day they had you believing everything they said.
as if it were biblical truths
confused, you wonder how it came to this
on the night the bucks fizz went to your head
and you left the club with rogues
falling for the silver tongued chancer
rather than stay with the friends
who begged you to remain
now as a new day dawns
a realisation comes to you
and you know you will never be better together
and a ride on the back of a tandem
is isolation
by any other name

© Gayle Smith 2019

2 Replies to “By Any Other Name”

    1. Hey Rose From my perspective I don’t believe there is. I think it is absolute lunacy based on nothing other that right wing British Nationalist xenophobia.

      Love And Best Wishes
      Gayle XXX

Leave a comment