Kiss Of Kindness

In this poem I recall a visit to Ireland in the summer of 1996 when I went to Donegal with friends from the Scotia Bar Glasgow’s most famous traditional music bar and had a brilliant time at The Ballyshannon folk festival. I’ve given it the title Kiss Of Kindness as suggested by my friend Paddy Callaghan. Paddy as one of Scotland’s top traditional musicians is a man who knows Ballyshannon well so I think it is appropriate that he selected the title. I hope you enjoy the read.

Kiss Of Kindness

it was the summer of 96
blue skies and sunshine
welcomed me to a place
I’d never visited
though it seemed familiar
I sensed an atmosphere
of peace
  the calmness stilled my heart
as a Donegal town prepared to party
the festival brought a broth of accents
strangers mixed with locals
over drinks craic and tunes
blending perfectly like ingredients
in a plate of Sunday soup
which would warm you
in the coldest of winters
in every bar fiddlers played
as songs were sung past midnight
in to the wee small hours
at half past two I walked
through deserted streets
as I made my way back
to the digs I’d call home
for my stay in this place
a place that still calls to me
more than two decades later
on opening the door
the woman said I was home early
I knew then not to make the same mistake
for the rest of the time I’d enjoy
the hospitality of my hosts
as Ballyshannon kissed me with kindness.

© Gayle Smith 2020

4 Replies to “Kiss Of Kindness”

Leave a comment