Ingredients 

On day 9 of NaPoWriMo My poem was inspired on enjoying a bowl of soup after church this morning.  In it I reflect on the fact that we are all made up of many parts, ingredients if you like and it is when these ingredients are blended together they are combined in to the recipes which makes us who we are. I’ve given this poem the title Ingredients I hope you enjoy the read. 

Ingredients

When it comes to the  recipe 

which was used in my creation 

I don’t think it’s an exaggeration

for me to claim 

I am a mixture of ingredients 

I am gabby wee Glaswegian 

who says things as I see them 

 I am a poet,  a thinker,

a coffee drinker who is concerned

about cash crops ,cash cows, and sustainability 

I try to use what abilities I have to help others 

I have discovered myself 

and I like who I am 

I tend not to plan 

but live in the moment 

savouring every experience 

life has to offer

I campaign for an independent Scotland 

not for wha’s like us shortbread and tartan 

my yes vote wasn’t born cheering the team at Hampden 

it was a product of the schemes 

Tory governments destroyed 

I get annoyed with those won’t take a stand against poverty 

because they are doing alright 

fairness is everyone’s fight 

I won’t write poetry on nice safe subjects 

nor do it for family occasions

Hallmark do celebrations so much better 

I have a poetic agenda and yes it is political 

some would say overtly so 

but I have always believed 

as you sow so shall you reap 

I weep tears of anger at the not so great unthinking 

who think that acting tough 

in front of their drinking companions 

gives them credibility 

it doesn’t it just makes them look thick 

diplomacy is not one of my skills 

honesty however night be 

whether they  like or not 

I will enlighten them 

by shattering their fragile sense of self 

if that is what it  takes

I will use humour to break them 

if they even dare to start 

their sexist , racist, misogynistic, or transphobic crap 

believe me this would not be a smart move 

I am a fighter who knows

 what tactics to use and when to use them 

that said, I have a kind heart 

for those who really  matter 

I’m not attracted to patter merchants 

who think they can talk me in to bed 

when I like someone intellect 

rather than my hormones 

will make the decision 

ambition is my biggest turn on 

I want someone who smart and successful 

confident in themselves and in  others 

as I said I have discovered myself

and I like who I am 

more importantly I like the ingredients that make me 

and gave me the recipe for success 

© Gayle Smith 2017  

Leave a Reply

