Unwritten 

Hey Readers 

I have often heard it said that the best poems , stories, and songs are never written because the muse is so often a nocturnal visitor and a fleeting one at that. So it is with this in mind that I’ve written this poem titled Unwritten for all those lost poems, stories, and songs. I don’t know why but I think this poem may strike a chord with my creative friends. As for the rest of you, I hope you enjoy the read. 

Unwritten 
This is written

for the unwritten songs 

the untold stories 

the half finished poems 

the novels I wanted to write

the ideas I had at the darkest hour 

of the night 

but never found the time 

this is for that perfect rhyme 

I found only when I completed 

that sonnet 

this is for every single bee 

I’ve ever had in my bonnet 

this is for the plays I left 

in notepads in the drawer 

this is for the stand up I should have performed

this is for those who never got the chance 

to dance, sing or take the stage 

for the words that never made the page 

the memories that could have been made 

by the stars who should have shone 

but were allowed to fade from view 

as the sky changed hue 

and night became morning 

at the dawning of another day 

meanwhile as the muse 

so often a nocturnal visitor

departs from our mist 

 histories remain 

unwritten 

@ Gayle Smith 2017. 
 

Leave a Reply

