Change

Hey Readers.

image

It was on 19th December 2008 that I finally came out as the woman I had known myself to be and the world realised that I wouldn’t be going back in my box. So on day 19 of Blogmas I decided to celebrate my transformation day by writing this poem entitled Change I hope you enjoy the read.

Change

On this night there was change
from old to new
from fear to success
this was the night
I said yes to embracing
a better more honest life
no more secrets and disguise
at first my transition surprised
even shocked
I was talk of the village
for a week
until folk realised I was
still me
maybe not in the traditional way
they had thought
but underneath I was still the same
a football fan and a drama queen
who likes the finer things in life
would make a good wife
though not as domestic as my mother
I have discovered I’m a better home maker
than I believed I could be
I have certain skills
the mammy in me has only now been brought out
I’m a straight talking woman
who knows what I’m on about
I am proud of the road I’ve walked
I’ve done much more than talk the talk
I lived the life I always knew was mine
because on this night
there was change
as I evolved from moth to butterfly
and started to spread my wings

@ Gayle Smith 2016

Leave a Reply

