The Night With Two Endings Was The Night We Saw A Star

Hey Readers.    
As I get ready for the annual festive shenanigans which is the Words and Music Christmas cracker it’s time to look back on the events of magical November in which our featured acts were a mixture of youth and experience and there was the welcome return of some our most popular characters to our cultural family fold.

As is now customary I opened the night dead on 8 o’clock and this months opening poem was House Rules a comic poem on the rules I believe every girl should set before moving in with potential suitor. 

Job done, it was time to open the floor to the first of the billed readers and is was a tremendous pleasure to welcome my long standing friend and supporter of Words and Music Alex Frew to give us his unique take on the world. In his first apperance at our new home Alex read three poems starting with My First Telly, before moving on to the more serious topic of Care Homes and then lightening the atmosphere with his final poem Trumpets which was his ‘ tribute ‘ to  followers of a certain Donald Trump. This was a top quality set which illustrated why Alex pictured below with Andy Fleming) is so highly rated by yours truly and such a welcome addition to our company whenever he can make it along.

Picture (1) Alex Frew And Andy Fleming take in their new surroundings with Maryanne Hartness looking on.

image

Next up was first time performer Mary Wilson. Mary had attended the October edition of our event just to see what she thought of it and I’m delighted to say she decided to come back. On this occasion Mary decided she would perform and on her debut performance she read three poems and I can remember the titles of two of them This Is Where We Come In and Canvassing Time. I have to say as a political activist for the SNP I really enjoyed canvassing time through I’m not sure I agree with all the, sentiments expressed in it.  

Next up was Peter Russell who read two poems Sandy Denny’s Wake and Only Those Who Change To Themselves Stay True. Both of these poems were powerful , passionate and filled with brilliant imagary which is the hallmark of one of most refreshing voices on the spoken word scene at the moment.

Peter was followed to the stage by the man I view as my mentor, the one and only Derek Read. On this occasion Derek read a poem by Louis McNeice and one of his own poems on The Closing Of The Burrell Collection and it’s great to see a talented poet beginning to find his way back to the spoken word scene as ill health has curtailed his appearances in recent times.

Picture (2) Derek Read Regales the company at the Tin Hut with his unique brand of entertainment.

image

After Derek it was the turn of Alan McGlas to entertain the company and Alan read three pieces Silver Birch, Difference, and Glasgow Docks all of which he delivered with his customary aplomb before taking his seat to enjoy the rest of the evening.

As Alan made his exit Susan Milligan took her five minutes in the spotlight reading two pieces Fancy Veichle, and Back Doors On Buses before concluding her set with a song about Shipbuilding.

After Susan’s set it was the turn of Suzanne Egerton to share her cultural thoughts with us Suzanne started her set with Autumnal an excellent prose piece which showcased her ability as a storyteller who really knows the power of language and the impact it can have. Unusually for Suzanne who has gained a reputation as a quality prose writer she decided to show her poetic talents with us and Tuppence For him which she wrote about the closure of the Ravenscraig steel works was the work of a quality wordsmith Suzanne finished her set by returning to the world of prose for Arc Of An Affair before returning to take her place amongst the faithful.

Next up was the ever entertaining Fingers who led us to the bar break with two of his more serious poems which he tends to read around the time of Remembrance and So The Politicians Said and Keep The Home Fires Burning, certainly gave us plenty to think about as we stopped for a well deserved bar break.

After the bar break it was time to welcome our featured writer and in Marc Sherland (pictured below) we had a man of experiance and a consummate performer who is well practiced in the art of stagecraft and knows how to work an audience

image

Picture (3) Our Featured Writer and keen Words And Music supporter Marc Sherland takes The Tin Hut stage

Mark started his set with Flourish, and moved on to Rumination, Braveheart which has I am pleased to report nothing to do with the Mel Gibson movie of that name but was a very moving tribute to his late brother who endured a personal battle with disability throughout his life. After this emotional and personal piece, Marc read the Edwin Morgan classic poem Strawberries, and his reply to it Kirkpatrick Hills which I enjoyed as every bit as much as Morgan’s original. He continued his set with Rip It Up And Start Again and Practising My Best, before concluding a fast paced and enjoyable set with This Is For The Fireman Who Saved My Life and his final poem Nice Shoes.

As I said I enjoyed this set but then I always enjoy Marc’s work he’s a quality writer and has a style to his  performance which like his sonnets can only be described as uniquely Sherlandian and that to me is great news for the Scottish spoken word scene.

After the featured writer it was time for our featured musician and in debut girl Caitlin Buchanan who was making her first appearance at Words And Music I believe we have unearthed a star who will enrich the Scottish, British , and Global traditional music scene for decades to come.&nbsp

Caitlin (pictured below) started the best debut set of any featured musician since a certain Anna Meldrum with The Cinema she followed up with moving Another Top, and The Tallest Tree which is my personal favourite of her songs before moving on to Hope Of Release and finishing an outstanding debut performance with the excellent Fools Gold. I have to admit I enjoyed a spot of bias as knowing Caitlin from the Blue Chair open mic nights I knew how good she was going to be as did Grace Alison who had come along to support her. That said it was great to hear her getting praised by the likes of Andy Fleming and Marc Sherland who unlike me had never seen her on previous any previous occasions and Marc was so impressed by this dynamic young singer songwriter that her gave her his business card at the end of the night.

At the end of her set I had one of those mammy moments with a girl who I think is destined to follow someone else I tipped for stardom the first time I saw her at the Danny Kyle open stage at Celtic Connections her name is Rachel Sermanni. As those who know our traditional music know Rachel went on to win a Danny Kyle award and has gone to much bigger things. Now I don’t know why but I believe I saw someone else who can also follow that path and her name is Caitlin Buchanan.

Picture (4) Our Featured Musician the brilliant Caitlin Buchanan rocks the Tin Hut with her breathtaking Words And Music debut set.

image

At the end of two fantastic featured sets it was the turn
of Maryanne Hartness to take the stage however on a night which would still have some interesting twists and turns before it was over Maryanne politely declined to go up as she believed that Caitlin should be the last of the billed acts to perform at that I should wind up the night. With Andy saying earlier in the night that he wasn’t going to perform. I thought I was getting up to bring the night to close and as I read three poems A Stain On The Sunshine and Dress Sense that was exactly what I thought I had done. It turned out that this eventful and enjoyable wasn’t quite finished as half way thorough my round up as I was giving my thanks to the performers, a slightly scootered Derek said that I missed someone was Andy by doing this threw the night in to chaos but for some reason known only to the almighty this seemed to work as Andy then decided to get up after all and performed I Love America in his unique style which makes him such a hit with the Words and Music regulars.

With Andy having made his Words and Music comeback in a way that only he can Maryanne decided that she would after all make her first performance since the flitting and read two poems Old Stories And Halloween before
I brought the night to an end for a second and final time by reading the final poem of the night Walk Of Shame which is a humorous account of a women’s most embarrassing moment and is always well received particularly by the women in the audience. Well let’s be honest they’ve all been through it at least a dozen times and probably will be again. It is what Arielle Karo would call one of those relatable poems on moments only women share.

As I brought the night to an end and everyone made their way back in to the chill of an early November evening I stayed for a while to chat Caitlin and her friends on how they enjoyed the Words and Music experience. As they gave me their feedback which was I am happy to say very positive I told our newest singing sensation that this may have been her first appearance at the event but it certainly wouldn’t be her last.

Naturally Caitlin was pleased with the news and told me she liked the fact she had an appreciative audience willing to listen to her songs. I have to say this comment made me smile and the more seasoned Words and Music regulars will know why. You see we were brought up by good cultural parents, and Hughie and Pamela would always remind us that the best of nights are always enjoyed when poets really listen to the music and believe me we listened as the night with two endings was the night we saw a star.

Love And Best Wishes
Gayle X

Leave a Reply

