If I Had Known I Was Going I’d Have Baked A Cake. (The Story Of The T-Time Christmas Bake Off )

On day 6 of Blogmas the focus turns to cake. Well this is a time us girls like to indulge ourselves with sweet treats and believe me on Saturday I had the chance to do exactly that when some of regulars at the T-Time trans support group I attend on the first Saturday of the month were staging our very own Christmas bake off. 

The first cake I tried was made by Tommy. Yes, men can bake especially when it’s a young Italian whose made a gorgeous Tiramisu especially for us to enjoy.

Picture (1) Tommy’s Tiramisu

<a href="https://tartantights.files.wordpress.com/2016/12/img_20161203_145932.jpg”>image 

This has always been one of my favourite desserts and as I really enjoy both coffee and chocolate this will always be a winning combination and I have to say this version was particularly delicious.

Picture (2) Olive Bread (A Delightful Savoury Snack)

This Olive Bread whilst not my favourite choice on the menu gave the opportunity to try something new. Well the festive season is as good a time as any to experiment with new tastes and flavours and I’m really glad I decided to give it a go as this though I’m not big on savoury snacks this one exceeded all my expectations.

image

The next cake was Sacher Torte (yes as a judge I had to try them all) This one was the more filling of all the desserts on offer. It was a bit heavier than other cakes and not quite as sweet, but in saying that this would ideal to eat on Christmas night as it would give you that bagged up but contented feeling reserved for occasions like that.

Picture (3) Sacher Torte

image

Picture (4) This tasty treat is Orange And Lemon Cake. I don’t know it finished bottom of the judges score card considering I placed it second in my list. I thought it was delicious and it that lively tangy taste that tingled on my tastebuds and made me want more. This cake was brilliant and to quote Simon Cowell I didn’t like it, I loved it. 

image

Picture (5) Last but not least was this Stem Ginger Cake which was baked by Jan was voted the winner of the T-Time Christmas Bake Off and quite rightly in my opinion as it was top of my list in what was the most deliciously different competition I have ever judged and believe me no poetry competition or spoken word slam has ever been such a challenge for me to select a winner.Thankfully however I was just like a poetry slam part of a wider team which in this case comprised of everyone who hadn’t entered the bake off. 

ln the end the combined judges score card had my winner as the overall winner there really could be no other choice. Well I could imagine having this with custard on a Sunday afternoon as the dessert course to finish off my meal. Yes it really was that good. 

image

At the end of the bake off Tommy gave a demonstration on how to make tirsmasu and I have to say he made it look easy which I’m sure I’m sure it isn’t but he like all the participants I wish I had because if I had that kind of ability and known I was going  I would have baked a cake.

Love And Best Wishes

Gayle X

2 thoughts on “If I Had Known I Was Going I’d Have Baked A Cake. (The Story Of The T-Time Christmas Bake Off )

    • Hey Sara Anne Those cakes and snacks would tempt any girl’s tastebuds. Every single one of them was absolutely delicious though it has to be said they could be potentially catastrophic for our hips, not to mention our wardrobes.

      It really was a lovely way to spend a Saturday.

      Love And Best Wishes
      Gayle X

Leave a Reply

