We Are Scotland

Hey Readers

This poem is my response to those on the right who want us to list what they call foreign workers and I call fellow global citizens who were born outside the UK. Personally I find this idea both offensive and ridiculous. So in support of Scotland’s First Minister Nicola Sturgeon who says we will have no part in this I have written this poem entitled We Are Scotland. I hope you enjoy the read.

We Are Scotland

As a child
I had teachers from Switzerland and France
classmates from India, Ireland and Italy
so I say with dignity
they are Scotland.

Through family friendships
I knew Poles, Lithuanians,
Germans and Australians
so I make the claim for them
they are Scotland

With relatives from Ireland ,
England, Canada and several other countries
I gained different inspirations
Xenophobia disgusts me
so I say with pride 
they are Scotland

At university I was tutored by scholars from various nations
made friends from many others
humanity was my passport to the world
I know the haves and have nots
Scots by birth or by adoption
they have a home here
they are Scotland

As a friend I have dined
with Indonesians, Syrians, Palestinians Turks and Chileans
I’ve had Eritrean food
and it tasted brilliant
they are Scotland

As a poet I have shared stages
with performers from Portugal New Zealand, Spain, Jamaica and Sweden
so this mouthy wee Glaswegian
shouts from the rafters
they are Scotland

as a trans woman I have met trans sisters
from Mexico, Nigeria, Italy, and the USA
In the name of Equality
It’s my privilege to say
If they are Scotland
its time to replace
they with we
and say to the world

We are Scotland
and we are a voice for fairness.

@ Gayle Smith 2016

Leave a Reply

