Post-Brexit Thoughts from “An Immigrant”

Hey Readers

This post which has been reblogged from Tetris & Cheesecakes is a truly heartbreaking read from my friend Lucie

I have got to know Lucie
through the blogging scene and she is a funny,intelligent and kindhearted woman who doesn’t deserve to feel the way the last few days have made her feel. So if like me you are appalled by the upsurge in racism please share this post with your family and friends.

Love And Best Wishes
Gayle X

Tetris & (Cheese)cakes

The past few days haven’t been the easiest. I have seen so many stories of an increase in anti-immigrant sentiment, heartbreaking stories of families and schools being targeted by those who misguidedly thought a vote to leave the EU equalled sending all “foreigners” home. I may be unique amongst my friends as I do know people who voted “Leave” for reasons that didn’t include the immigration issue. They made the decision based on their own feelings and histories, and I really don’t want to detract from that. It’s tragic that though their personal reasons were not have racially motivated, their voices have now given credence to the racists and xenophobes in our country, who have taken their numbers as a sign that hate is justified. 52%. I really want to believe that 52% or Scotland, England, Wales and Northern Ireland aren’t racists, and who want people like me to “go…

View original post 756 more words

Leave a Reply

