Things I’m sick of hearing as a girl who likes football

Hey Readers.

As you know I don’t reblog posts very often so when I do decide to do it then it means the post has made a real impact on me. This post from Sophia Violet Blog speaks to my heart because as a fellow female football fan she tells it like it is when it comes to sexism in sport and especially in football.

Believe me when I say, Manchester City have a supporter to be proud of and a true champion of women football fans everywhere. So it’s with a ringing endorsement that I recommend
you read Things I’m Sick Of Hearing As A Girl Who Likes Football.

Trust me as a trans woman who is a proud Celtic fan, I’ve heard chat of the kind of she tackles a in her post and to be honest it disturbs me that so many of our fellow football fans are living in the dark ages. However, if anyone can give sexism the red card it’s a blogger called Sophia Violet. I hope you find her post to be both entertaining and educational and we start working on eradicating these ugly attitudes from the beautiful game.

Love And Best Wishes
Gayle X

Sophia

To celebrate the Euros starting this week, I have decided to write things I am so sick of hearing as a girl who likes football. With the Euros starting this summer I am more than excited to have something to watch over summer as when football isn’t on it spins me into withdrawal symptoms. BUT because I’m a girl often football banter is passed by me, because I am a girl who just shouldn’t know about football.

I am sick of getting the ‘do you know the offside rule’ question

I personally don’t understand what is so difficult about the offside rule, it is pretty simple and I have had to explain it to so many people, girls and boys. I think its crazy that I should have to prove my worthiness to people about how much I know about football, and often once you’ve proven your knowledge they continue…

View original post 554 more words

Leave a Reply

