Visible

Hey Readers. Welcome to a month of madness. Yes you’ve guessed it its time for #NaPoWriMo 2016 and on day 1 (and yes it was written on 01/04/2016 though it wasn’t posted straight away due the phone being charged), I have written a poem on trans issues entitled Visible in memory of yesterday’s day of trans visibility I hope you enjoy the read.

Visible

I was visible
on transgender day of visibility
in my city square I stood with dignity
to say this is me and I will not be hidden from sight
It is my right to be with treated fairness and respect
no matter where I am
or what I choose to wear
in front of other trans people
and passers by
who may have finished uni
or been on travelling home
from work
I in my smart statement skirt
told those gathered that the girl who was once called tranny
is now a respected lady of the Kirk
In doing so I spoke my truth
told my story
to all who were willing to listen
the Scotland and Britain
we know today are far removed
from the lands that shaped me
the country that made me scared
I couldn’t have walked the streets
as the girl or younger woman
I knew I myself to be
I think some younger trans people
were genuinely shocked
as I told them that in the Glasgow of the 70’s and 80’s
closets were safer than public spaces
and you  could get arrested or killed
as late as the mid 1990’s
for being anything in what we now call the rainbow
the fact we fact we live in a more enlightened country
may be lovely
especially for those who remember the ugly days of past years
when we were a lot more fearful than now.
when gatherings like this would not have taken place
we  would have been taunted
as shameful
labelled a disgrace
by those who didn’t want to ask questions
find out who we were or what we might like
preferring to take comfort in views
handed down
believe their assumptions to be right
beyond all doubt
this is a world I can gladly live without
now as I walk through my neighborhood and city centre
I am visible to all
I love the life I have
and wouldn’t swap it for the world
the girl with secret dreams
is out from  the scheme
to the merchant city
as a blogger poet and political activist
I make my views known
I read a poem
to those in attendance
and those who were just passing through
I did it for me and for the crowd
Does my lipstick scare you
made me proud to tell the world
being trans was not a phase for me
it was the path to who I was meant to be
a woman  who campaigns for equality
in all aspects of life
It’s just the way I am
I am trans
I am visible
I am me
What you see is what you get
and all I ask is fairness and respect

@ Gayle Smith 2016

4 thoughts on “Visible

  1. This poem captures your spirit Gayle. You are a strong woman who is not afraid to stand up for yourself and for others. Thank you for sharing. Xx

    • Thanks Angela I was on a rant when I wrote this poem. Well you know what I’m like, I’m little miss lippy and I won’t change for anyone. For better or worse it’s just the way I am and that’s exactly how I like it.

      Love And Best Wishes
      Gayle X

Leave a Reply

