Tartan Tights 2015 My Year On The Blog

Hey Readers Happy New Year to one and all and I hope 2016 brings you all happiness, health, and success in the measure you need it.

For those of you who know me, it may not be a surprise to learn that my first post of this new year is a review of my last year on this virtual space I call home Well since the WordPress.com stats helpers prepared a 2015 annual report for tartantights I thought I should post on what they found.

This is an extract quoted directly from the report
‘The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 15,000 times in 2015.’ The exact total as of 11.55 Pm was I believe 14, 926. The statisticians tell me that If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 6 sold-out performances for that many people to see it. This is I have to say a pretty impressive statistic but I suppose if I want to give myself a reality check I should remind myself that my progress has been solid rather than spectacular and these figures represent an increase of only in the region of 1,500 views

Whilst happy that my views have increased, it was I think to be expected the number of comments to the blog would be down and there was around a 25 per cent drop in this particular area. This was at least in my opinion to be expected especially since we no longer had the independence referendum to engage a significant section of my readership. So overall I’m still looking at this in a very positive way. The fact that I set new viewing records for my top posts as early as January and then had my most successful ever day in September when 524 viewers visited the site shows that I am heading in the right direction.

2015 was a busy year for me as I created 259 new posts which means that the total number of posts on this blog as of hogmanay 2015 stood at 814. This means that all going according to plan I should reach my 1,000th post sometime this year probably around mid summer. I also learned that Friday was the was on which I posted most frequently with 43 posts being posted on that day. I don’t know of any of you will have theories as to why that I might be but I favour the one last rant before the weekend school of thought. Well, remember this is me I’m talking about.

Another area of success was that I managed to more than treble the amount of consecutive posts I put up from 10 to 33. This mega run started on the 31st March and concluded on the 2nd of May. So as I think you can see I was particularly chatty at this time. Why would this be I hear you ask. Well, I think I decided to take up the NaPoWriMo poetry challenge may have had something to do with it. I mean having to write a poem a day for the whole 30 days of April is I think the poetic equivalent of attempting to climb Mount Everest with only limited supplies.

Still on the subject of posts, of my top five posts, four were political in content whilst the other was my personal tribute in memory of Scotland’s oldest trans woman. They were Topics covered included The BBC, Death, Racism, and the 2015 General Election. The titles of the top five are listed below

(1) Joshing, Jolly Japes And Jibes On Jockistanis. The BBC Has Shown The World Why It Is Strictly Irrelevant 707 Views. This was the post which was responsible for setting my new viewing record both for daily views and as yet the highest total of any post in the history of tartan tights when I accused The BBC justifiably of Anti Scottish Racism.

(2) A Fighter Earns His Rest 487 Views This post was my tribute to friend and fellow member of the Shettleston SNP who died last January and this was written immediately I heard the news if you read I think you will feel the red raw pain of loss.

(3) Goodnight Auntie Gladrags 362 Views A post remembering one of one greatest characters I’ve ever known was my 3rd most popular post in 2015. Gladys Paterson was not only the oldest trans woman in Scotland she was also type of woman that once you met her she would make a lasting impact on your life. Gladys was one of those people who called a spade a dirty shovel rather than a gardening implement and the world was a better place because she did.

(4) The Bhoy From Bhangra And Bagpipes Traditions Plays Fair To Beat The Bigots 342 Views. This post was written in defence of Humza Yousaf MSP who some less than enlightened members of society had accused of supporting ISIS in the wake of the Paris bombings and was my passionate but I hope reasoned reaction to the attempted slur on the character of a decent and honourable man.

(5) On The Night We Changed The Colour Of Scotland’s Political Map I Gained Some Honourable Friends 185 Views This post was written in celebration of the SNP success at the 2015 General Election landslide and in particular their stunning victories in Glasgow a city so long dominated by The Labour Party. This was fantastic result for the Glasgow SNP activists who worked so hard to bring these seats in to our hands, and the fact that I know all of our city’s candidates and some of them are actually friends of mine was I hope reflected in a post which was written very much from the heart.

Naturally like all bloggers I am fascinated as to where my viewers come from and how they found me. In 2015 I was visited by readers from 81 countries most traffic not surprisingly came from The United Kingdom with the USA Canada, Australia, Spain, and Ireland also well represented.
As usual its the English speaking countries which dominate my list though the inclusion of Spain i who squeezed in to my top five at the expense of Ireland may have more to do with the Catalan independence referendum than any great long term trend.

As for where viewers found me, Facebook and Twitter were as expected the two main ways they connected with me. Other sites used to find tartantights include political scrapbook, Feedly and WordPress.com.Reader The top commentators on my posts were Bampots United, Last Year’s Girl, But I’m Beautiful, Margaret MacMillan, and Political Tourist. My thanks to them for their contributions to tartantights which are more valued than they know. I would also like to other regular commentators both on here and in both Facebook and Twitter, such as Annabel Marsh, Bob Leslie, Elaine Livingstone, Lesley MacKay , Maureen Fairgrieve, Monica Pitman Patrise Arts, Steve Allan, and Stephen Watt.

As for changes in the way I do things it seems this middle aged mother hen is getting more techno wise as the years go by. This time last year, I had never heard of Bloglovin let alone used it to promote my blog. Now, I not only use it I have followers on it. I have also set up Tumblr, and Instagram accounts though I think it may take a couple of years to reap the harvest of the seeds I’ve sown.

Another recent change is the fact I now use photographs in some of my blogs. In fact I believe I have uploaded 61 to my blog in the last twelve months. This is not too bad when you consider I hadn’t even put one in a post before November. The idea of importing photographs in to tartantights is something I would never have been brave enough to try 12 months but a girl who was then a teenager she turned 20 the day after my birthday, changed all that and Jessica Lauren Hatcher who writes her blog under the title Colorful Stuff has since become one of my very favourite people changed all that and I now enjoy blogging more than ever because of what she taught me. That life lesson from a girl young enough to be my daughter, was to take risks and become a better blogger because of it. This is something I hope I have already started to do and will with your help make progress towards achieving throughout 2016 and beyond.

So having said all I can on the events of the last year, let me start this one by saying that I hope the coming twelve months will be as good as you want or need them to be and that you keep on reading tartantights. After all it is for you that I endeavour to make my content as entertaining, informative, and enjoyable as possible.

Love And Best Wishes
Gayle X

2 thoughts on “Tartan Tights 2015 My Year On The Blog

  1. I always love reading the wordpress stats! I think comments are down in general though as people tend to chat over social media etc more than

    Well done for the increase in page views!

    Corinne x

    • Thanks Corinne Happy New Year. I hope it’s a good one for you and your blog. I know what you’re saying about the comments and I agree to some extent but at the risk of sounding like a political spin doctor I have a particular constituency who quite often comment on certain posts and I think that now the referendum is over I had factored in a drop in comments from that group. Also the fact that blog has become more overtly female in the last year was something I had to account for though I think this will have a positive impact on the longer term trends.

      Love And Best Wishes
      Gayle X

Leave a Reply

