Coffee Cake And Compassion In The Name Of A Worthwhile Cause ( The Story Of The MacMillan Coffee Morning At Baillieston St Andrew’s Parish Church)

Hey everyone Yesterday on the day of the anniversary of our country’s independence. referendum I went to church. I didn’t go to a wedding or a funeral nor did I go to say a prayer for a second referendum. I went to church for a cup of coffee.

Yes I know I’ve got coffee in my home but a good cup of coffee tastes even better when it’s served with compassion and hope and that’s why I had to attend my local church who were holding a coffee morning in support of MacMillan cancer care.

This is a topic which is very close to my heart. Having lost both parents to cancer I know the value of the work carried out by MacMillan nurses. I particularly valued the support they provided to my dad in his final few months before he went to his final rest.

I had intended being over at the start of the event but me being me I ended up running shall we say a wee bit later than planned. This wil be no surprise to those who know me well, especially if they are regular attender at Bards In The Park, Baillieston St Andrew’s Parish Church, Faith And Unbelief, Tollcross Writers, Glasgow Writers at GoMA, Shettleston SNP, or Women For Independence. In fact the only event for which I am on time is the Words And Music night at Lebowskis on the First Monday of the month and that’s probably because I host the event.

Anyway, I finally did make it to the church where I enjoyed coffee cake and companionship in support of a good cause. I was told that it had been busy earlier on but it was beginning to quieten down when I arrived. I was also informed that it had raised a decent sum of money and I have to say I am pleased about that. Well I am a strong believer that no-one should have to face cancer alone and no family should lack support as they face the pain of losing a loved one and eventually the force of bereavement. It is therefore great to know that the money raised at coffee mornings like the one I attended will make no sure no has to and that MacMillan nurses will be able to provide the high standard of care for which they are renowned to those who need it most.

Love And Best Wishes

Gayle X

Leave a Reply

