Donna Summer Moments

Hey everyone Thought I would share this poem on those secret teenage dancing moments we all have when we think or at least hope nobody’s watching. Since I had to travel back to my teens I tried to capture the spirit of the summer of 77 and  I’ve given it  the title Donna Summmer Moments.  I hope enjoy the read.

Donna Summer Moments

I would get up early
wear fishnets and body suit
convince myself I look cute
play my cassette
dancing to forget
assumptions of others
who thought they knew better
princess, pretender who longed for protector
to keep me safe
in my Donna Summer moments
when I feel love.
and the unkindness of it all. 

@ Gayle Smith 2015

Leave a Reply

