Tan Tights On Saturdays

Hey everyone. This is a poem on why it is important for women to walk with confidence to show the world that we will never settle for a second class life. I hope it illustrates the difference between wide boys and real men can be judged on how they treat women including women like me. I’ve called it Tan Tights On Saturdays I hope you enjoy the read.

Tan Tights On Saturdays

Walking down the street
over confident guys
wolfe whistle me from the safety of cars
but I don’t really care I will be who I am
confident whatever I wear
I can’t say the same for them
they seem nervous uncomfortable with themselves
and everyone else
the mask of their manhood
hides nothing
instead exposing the flaws of those ignored by santa claus and the easter bunny
the jokes cracked may have been funny in the time of Benny Hill
now they demonstrate a lack of social skills
the complete opposite of the man
I met in a very expensive bar
who came over to me
when I was smart but causal
said he had a girlfriend
but still bought me a drink
saying it takes real bottle
to be who you are regardless
of what others may think
to him my skirt and lipstick
said woman
more than that
it said nice, decent,
stylish but respectable
It set boundaries saying
what I would or wouldn’t accept
told him what I had learned to respect
and more importantly reject
as he paid for my coke
he smiled before returning to his partner
saying it takes class to wear
tan tights on saturdays.

@ Gayle Smith 2015

One thought on “Tan Tights On Saturdays

Leave a Reply

