When The Girls Told The Story Of The Child Who Was Born For Us All I Saw The True Spirit Of The Season And Knew The Real Meaning Of Christmas ( For The Girls Of 95th Company Baillieston St Andrew’s Girls Brigade)

Hey everyone. It is I think fair to say that my festive season has been nothing if not eventful this year. I would even go as far as to say that it could be summed up by a mini version of a very familiar seasonal song. Two Christmas eve services, one Chicken curry no Christmas telly and a mountain of increasing debt.

Yes I know those of you of a certain vintage could name that tune in one but hey that’s enough of my satirical if shortened version of 12 days of Christmas. Now on it’s time to get on to other matters as the world gets back to something that masquerades as normality.

Looking back on the season to be jolly I have to say that the Reverend I M Jolly probably had more reasons to be cheerful than I did this Christmas and bare in mind we are talking about the most dour faced minister fictional though he was, ever to wear a dog collar. Fortunately however our ministerial team of the Reverend Malcolm Cuthbertson and the Reverend Alex Scott are shall we say a little bit more lively than that particular fictitious gentleman and Baillieston St Andrew’s is not a place to go if you go to church only for a Sunday morning sleep.

Proof of this if any were needed, came on the last Sunday before Christmas when the 95th Girls Brigade company took over the service and presented their version of the Christmas story at the church which we locals call the kirk on the corner. It was and I’m not being biased when I say this absolutely brilliant and the girls were a credit to their families, friends, leaders, and company.

It was a fantastic performance by all concerned but what really impressed me was the fact that it was presented using poetry and music. Now as a poet and spoken word performer I must admit I was well impressed. You see as any poet will tell you poetry is not an easy craft and the fact that none of the rhymes in the any of the poetic segments were even remotely forced was a considerable achievement as the poets amongst my readers will all too readily testify. I say this because as I and every other poet knows only too well we’ve all seen the occasional forced rhyme in our first drafts before reminding ourselves to go through the painful process of editing as few if any poems are ever completed at first draft. Though if your very lucky there are the occasional exceptions when for some unknown reason it all comes together.

So well done to one and all for providing such an entertaining and enjoyable performance which pushed all the right emotional buttons to get me in the mood for Christmas and was of one the highlights of what was otherwise a very challenging time where my faith was tested like it hasn’t been in a very long time.

As regular readers of tartantights will no doubt know I am very proud of my local church. I especially enjoy the run up to Christmas as this has always been my favourite time of year. I don’t know why or maybe I do and just admit it, but my heart strings are very easily pulled during this time and it doesn’t take much for tears to start flowing as I’m such a sucker for happy endings. So me being me it was only natural to shed a few seasonal raindrops. To be honest I would defy anyone who was there that Sunday morning not to have done the same, because believe me, when the girls told the story of the child who was born for us all I saw the true spirit of the season and I knew the real meaning of Christmas.

Love And Best Wishes
Gayle X

Leave a Reply

