Resolutions

Hey everyone Happy New Year to one and all and as this is my first post of 2015 I thought a poem on resolutions might do the trick so I’ve titled it Resolutions. I hope you enjoy the read

Resolutions

At the stoke of midnight
I make resolutions
vows with meaning
I intend to keep
I will not wander from the path
to the dangerous side of the street

I think of my faith
of the god who made me strong
I will not sing a song of sorrows
for imagined yesterdays
or tomorrow’s which have not yet arrived

I will not be tempted by the darkness
to what the deceiver requests
in the secret time of night
I will take flight wait for him to be unmasked
at 3 am god has x-ray eyes
and uses not just in daylight hours
but whenever lies are spoken

I think of those I call kin
promising to hold them
closest to my heart
money cannot buy
the gifts they give freely

I remember
that this is a time of welcome
for friends and for strangers
there shall be no double standards
I will not leave you in danger
the wise men followed the star
and made their own way home

I shall do as they did
I shall try not to blame others
for my faults and limitations
seek inspiration in the word
finding answers in the book
to the problems of each new day

Tonight I pray I will be able
to uphold my views with dignity
accept with grace what I cannot change
whilst being the change I want to see in the world
I was never a material girl
though I’ve sang and danced to the song

Well haven’t we all
every Cinderella has balls to attend
friends with whom to mix and mingle
and in the season of jingle and new year bells
a woman needs to see and be seen

I didn’t watch the queen
preferring to chat to friends
rather than listen to the words
of the head of a wealthy family
she doesn’t know what struggle is like
she’ll never have to wear ripped tights
or the same skirt she wore two days ago

In my world I reflect on days past
and those still to come
as pictures of people fill my memory
sitting in the quiet of an empty living room I remember
at the stroke of midnight I made resolutions
I wonder have I broken them already?

@ Gayle Smith 2015

One thought on “Resolutions

  1. Hello πŸ™‚

    My last post about why resolutions do not work might be interesting for you…

    http://my35project.com/2015/01/01/why-new-years-resolutions-do-not-work-but-goals-do/

    You can also find my progress to get out my shitty life πŸ™‚

    http://my35project.com/2015/01/01/this-is-called-progress-in-2-weeks/

    You may think about starting your own project

    http://my35project.com/start-yours-now/

    Or, it would be so much appreciated if you support mine by following, commenting and giving advice πŸ™‚

    http://my35project.com/about/

    Thank you so much πŸ™‚
    Successful & Healthy New Year πŸ™‚

    Alex

Leave a Reply

