Transformation Night

Hey everyone Six years ago tonight I came out to my then work colleagues and presented as a woman for the first time at the Christmas night out. This decision to live permanently in my acquired gender has proved to be the best decision I will ever make in my life as for the first time I felt free to be myself. I always think of this night as my transformation night and I have used this idea as the title for my latest poem. I hope you enjoy the read.

Transformation Night

This was the night
the world stayed the same
the earth didn’t shake
to its foundations
plagues did not infest all nations
but I did cause minor tremors
in the comfort zones of clever Trevor’s
my gold dress made a statement
it said this is me take me as you find me
take me as I am
this was transformation night
I was putting an end
to the sham
of pretending to be someone I wasn’t
I was coming out and I wouldn’t be going back to yesterday
with grace and dignity I made the decision
realising a cherished ambition
a childhood dream
a dream I couldn’t share with others
growing up I knew the sorrows
of keeping secrets I didn’t want to hide
this night proved pride was more
than slogans and marches
I had taken the first steps to my every day reality
from now on this would be my life
I would be writing the script
not waiting for cameo roles
as an extra in the cast
now the star of my one woman show
this was the night I let the world know
who I really was
the girl who wrote a letter to Santa Claus
and waited till the time was right
to give herself the present
she selected
for a better happier life
yes I met a few folk with attitudes
I could tell I had unnerved them
poor souls were unable to cope
though some would deny it
I didn’t buy it or them
I just smiled and walked on by
left small minds in the past
I was walking my own path
a combination of red carpet meets yellow brick road
the colours make sense
In my world where no shades of any hue
are excluded from the rainbow
all I know is that this was the night
the world stayed the same
the earth didn’t shake
to its foundations
plagues did not infest all nations
but I did cause minor tremors
in the comfort zones of clever Trevor’s
well they needed brought into real world
to know girls like me exist
and we won’t be going away
My gold dress made a statement and the statement said
this is me transformed from moth to butterfly
a woman on a journey to glory

@ Gayle Smith 2014

One thought on “Transformation Night

Leave a Reply

