Christmas Lies ( Just What I’ve Always Wanted)

Hey everyone Today sees one of my favourite days in the poetry calender as poets from far and wide gather at the Gallery of Modern Art for our annual Christmas celebration which is imaginatively titled Tinsel Tales. So with this in mind I have decided to post a Christmas poem from 2005 I’ve titled it Christmas Lies ( Just What I’ve Always Wanted)
It’s written from the perspective of my younger self with tongue firmly planted in check. I hope you enjoy the read

Christmas Lies ( Just What I’ve Always Wanted)

That video you got me
you know that one I mean
it really was so perfect
for my exercise routine
like I need that I want to scream
till with guilt my tongue gets haunted
so I indulge in the christmas lie
it’s just what I’ve always wanted

You bought my dad a home brew kit
though he’ll drive you round the twist
as every day from now till May
he’ll drive you round the twist
but I put on my best fake smile
though my nose has become disjointed
as once again I tell you all
it’s just what I’ve always wanted

You bought our Mel the sis from hell
some calenders by mistake
they had to be the Chippendales
and Justin Timberlake
David got a laptop
I’m really disappointed
but yet again I’ll let you know
it’s just what I’ve always wanted

And as for all the other gifts
I found beneath the tree
I’ve not received a single one
which really pleases me
Grandma’s cardigan looked too old
Mel’s top was way too tight
it’s my annual family nightmare
no-one gets it right

Now I know you’ll say you meant well
and I don’t doubt your intentions
but why are the simple things in life
beyond your comprehension
on boxing day you’ll vegetate
with turkey and mince pies
but I’ll grab the receipts
and run to the sales
they’ll be no more Christmas Lies

@ Gayle Smith 2005

Leave a Reply

