Sluts ( A Poem In Tribute To Those On The Glasgow Slut Walk To Reclaim The Streets For Women 04-06-2011)

Hey everyone As you are no doubt all aware as a political activist and campaigner I have a long and honourable history of attending demonstrations in the name of causes I believe to be right. From marches in support of Scottish Independence and Irish Unity from CND to a fair living wage I have attended them all because where I believe a wrong needs to be corrected I will give my time freely to those march behind the banners of fairness and equality.

This poem is the story of one of the most empowering marches of them all the 2011 Glasgow Slut Walk. Yes I really did a Slut Walk and you know what I was proud to do so. You see it was not the women on the march who were declaring ourselves to be sluts we were protesting at society’s right to label us in such a negative way just because we decide to dress in a certain way.

This is unfair and cannot be justified no girl or woman ever deserves to be raped and as Magi Gibson reminds us in her poem No Angel we should be able to wear what we like without being prejudged by a section of men who believe women were put on this earth to serve them.
Now I hate to inform them but this is not true, women are not a homogeneous group we are each first and foremost individuals and we were put on this earth because of the unique contribution each of us can make to this world. It is for those reasons and many others I was so proud to don my boldest top, shortest mini skirt, and a pair of fishnet tights and march in the slut walk. The poem is called Sluts I hope you enjoy the read.

Sluts

Mini skirts, fishnets and a touch of red lippy
clothes I wouldn’t wear to the office
but they may be my style of choice at weekends
when going out with friends
for cocktails in respectable bars
must make sure bra and knickers match
co-ordination all important
I don’t want to be lifted by the fashion police
I commit enough crimes against Versace
but this is how it has to be
no man will see
the colour of my lingerie
It’s a private affair
don’t stare it’s wrong
even when the wind blows
every woman knows
we dress to please to ourselves
it doesn’t matter about the length or style of our attire
if we do not desire the pleasure of your company
we will say no
you cannot accuse us of being temptresses
because we dress in a certain way
if you wish to smile that’s your choice
bit hear this message listen to our voice
we are who we are
we will walk the streets
with friends or alone
any time morning or night
enjoy life
do as we please
not wear labels like man eater tease or any other name
we will not accept blame
for any of your carnal desires
or uncontrolled lusts
we will never believe
any man has the right
to call us
Sluts

Leave a Reply

