I’m Just A Girl Who Can Say No ( That’s Why I’m Voting Yes)

Hey everyone. There was a classic song from the show Oklahoma entitled I’m just a girl who can’t say no. It’s a wonderful song a great lyrics and a catchy tune. However I’m a girl who can say no because sometimes saying no is the right thing to do. It all depends on whatever your saying no to and your reasons for doing so.

For me saying no to anything must be a positive life affirming choice which will benefit my quality of life and that is why I’m saying the biggest no of my life on September 18th. With one cross on a ballot box I am saying no to better together and their limited vision for my country where hope is replaced by fear is the dominant narrative for our the story of our people. You see to me this positive vote I’m casting is saying no to so many things we neither want or need for example I have listed a few in this poem entitled I’m just a girl who can say no. I hope you find it an enjoyable thought provoking read.

I’m Just A Girl Who Can Say No

I’m saying no to the House of Lords and unelected peers
I’m saying no to foodbanks
I’m saying no to fear.
I’m saying no to austerity
no to the culture of greed
I’m saying no to Westminster
to not helping those in most need
I’m say no to discarding the old
and demonising our young
I’m saying no to sectarian bile
to the culture of banging the drum
I’m saying no to a place in the past
when it isn’t my story they tell
I’m saying no to being told that I can’t
I won’t buy the bullshit they sell

I’m saying no to illegal wars
I’m saying no to trident
I’m saying no to Tory rule
to immigrants suffering violence I’m saying no to the BNP to the politics of malice
I’m saying no to the benefit cuts
to the union’s poisoned chalice

I’m saying no to city kids
playing Russian Roulette with my savings
I’m saying no to the promise of jam
to this dis united nation
I’m saying no the painful death
of a privatised NHS
I’m saying no to the gravy train
I call the expenses express

I’m saying no to a land of no hope
I’m saying no to spin
I’m saying no not for things that I’ve lost
I’m thinking of what we can win
It’s a much better nation
for those yet to come
where our land can be built on success
so you see I’m a girl who can say no
but this time it has to be Yes

@Gayle Smith 2014

One thought on “I’m Just A Girl Who Can Say No ( That’s Why I’m Voting Yes)

Leave a Reply

