UK No Thanks

Hey everyone It seems some brain surgeon in the no campaign (irony alert) has decided to come up with a slogan for this disparate parcel of rogues. The slogan they’ve come up with is No Thanks which they really don’t realise is a gift to the Yes Scotland team. After all, their are plenty of reasons to say no thanks to the unionists and this poem lists only a few of them. I hope you enjoy the read.

UK No Thanks

I’ll say no thanks to the house of lords
to children living in poverty
I’ll say no thanks to the boys in the banks
or rule by a Tory minority
I’ll say no thanks to Britain first
I’ll say no thanks to despair
I’ll say no thanks to bare faced liars
like Galloway, Darling, And Blair

I’ll say no thanks to trident
I’ll say no thanks to expenses
Instead I’ll promote a vision of a land
which has finally come to its senses
I say yes because I know
this vote is about respect
I’ll say no thanks every day of my life
to governments I would never elect

I’ll say no thanks to the theft of our seas
to foodbanks as others grow richer
I’ll say to no thanks to a culture of greed
where Labour worship Thatcher
I’ll say no thanks to illegal wars
no thanks to inequality
It’s time to say no thanks UK
and vote yes in the name of democracy

@ Gayle Smith 2014

One thought on “UK No Thanks

  1. Nice one 🙂

    Someone needs to set this to music!
    I’ll even volunteer to go on video and sing it… (Though with my singing voice, that might actually discourage Yes supporters… Maybe I should threaten to sing if anyone votes No… Potential 100% Yes win there!) 😀

Leave a Reply

