The Reasons I Voted SNP At The European Elections

Hey everyone Today I voted SNP in the European Elections and this poem explains the reasons why. I have given it the very factual title The Reasons I Voted SNP In The European Elections. I hope you enjoy the read.

The Reasons I Voted SNP In The European Elections

I voted for a europe which does not fear immigration
I voted for a europe where the rights of all nations are respected not just the selected few
I voted for a europe
which gives me the chance to be the best I can be
I voted for a europe where personal freedom is a given right we should never have to fight for I voted for a europe where people can be ourselves
I voted for a europe which tackles issues like workers rights, health, income, and poverty
where the majority will not be silenced by the self interest of the rich
I voted for a europe not of failure but success
I voted for a europe where crime and climate change and are addressed
and sustainability is more than just a word
I did not vote for a europe where the angry and the absurd
compete for the position of clown a europe which would serve only itself
whilst letting its people down
I voted for a europe of ambition
where our leaders have the vision
to imagine a better world
then create it
rather than a europe based hatred and fear of others
I voted for an international europe
where we listen without prejudice to the opinions of others
not one in which we are forced to march to the beat of the emptiest drum making the loudest noise
I voted for a europe where we all have a place at the table
I voted for a europe which minorities are not feared or labelled
I voted for a europe which ensures disabled people will not be cast aside
I voted for a europe in which we can all have pride
I voted for a europe where rainbows are never hidden from our skies
but enjoyed for the range of colours they bring
I voted for a europe
which will sing a song of hope
with lyrics which show the way
to a more understanding tomorrow
I voted not for a portrait of anger with faces showing apathy and sorrow
based on self loathing,
prejudice, fear, and rejection
It is for these reasons and too many others to list in one poem
I voted SNP in the European Elections

@ Gayle Smith 2014

Leave a Reply

